the first road bike i ever had was a late 80s/early 90s aluminum road bike that i got from a local nonprofit that refurbishes donated bikes and sells them to the public. After a winter riding around on a hybrid, I decided that I would be way faster and able to cover farther distances on a bike with skinny tires and drop handlebars. I went to look at bikes at a bunch of stores in the area, scoured craigslist and talked to friends. I was just beginning to meet people who rode bikes everywhere and didn’t take the T, and I didn’t know if I could do it. 

This bike was sitting there at the shop, and a lady who would go on to become a friend years later was testing it out. I thought it was probably too big, but I waited and she left and I tried it out. I knew it would become my favorite bike (for a brief time). it was essentially the gateway bike – after that i would get the fixed gear and then the ‘rello and then who knows what will happen next….

Leave a Reply

